Luc Tuymans | The Worshipper 2005

Luc Tuymans

The Worshipper - 2005 [cat. 42]

Year:2005
Size105.00 x 73.00 cm
Edition of:100 + V + 14 AP
Published by:Phaidon Press - London
Printed by:Roger Vandaele, Antwerpen
Paper:BFK Rives 270 g/m2
Signature:Signed and numbered in pencil lower right
Available:For sale
Enquire about this work

The Worshipper

Screenprint in 8 colours on BFK Rives 270 g/ m2 paper and signed monograph in a linen case.
 
The 1994 painting, The Worshipper, was originally created for an exhibition at Zeno X Gallery in Antwerp. Tuymans gathered subject matter for the paintings included in this exhibition from the Binche Carnival, the annual tradition of a small French-speaking town in Belgium dating back to the fourteenth century. This elaborate event makes extensive use of masks and costumes and is listed by UNESCO as a Masterpiece of the Intangible Heritage of Humanity. The Worshipper is based on a Polaroid taken by Tuymans of a statue of a costumed man that he found leaning against a wall in Binche's Musee international du Carnaval et du Masque.
 
In a 2007 interview with Robert Ayers, Tuymans explains how he immediately saw the statue taking on an existence independent of the carnival setting, suggesting instead  'the idea of something strangely fanatical'. Framed in isolation and lie by the flash of Tuymans's camera, the figure is transformed into an archaic priest with one extended hand forming an ambiguous, imploring gesture.
 
In 2005, Tuymans collaborated on a large format screenprint edition of The Worshipper with master printer Roger Vandaele. The eight colours that comprise the palette differ from the grey-green of the original painting and set a much brighter figure against a dark yellow-brown background. This was intended to replicate the character of the overexposed snapshot, giving the figure an almost ghostly radiance. A light golden-brown shadow emphasises the shape of the figure's costume, tracing the sleeve of his right arm and seeping into the background. Another shadow doubles the gesturing hand, amplifying its presence. Bright, exposed details on the face and costume are rendered in light shades of violet recognisable only after dose inspection. These subtle details are offset by the gleaming insignia on the figure's headdress, a shocking contrast reinforcing the print's sinister aura.
 
 
 

Luc Tuymans

Luc Tuymans (born 1958) is a Belgian artist who lives and works in Antwerp. Tuymans is considered one of the most influential painters working today.

Vorige Volgende

Luc Tuymans

The Worshipper - 2005 [cat.42]

Sérigraphie en 8 couleurs sur papier BFK Rives 270 g/m2 et monographie signée dans un étui de toile
Éditée par Phaidon Press, New York/Londres
Imprimée par Roger Vandaele, Anvers
Signée et numérotée au crayon en bas à droite
Tirage: 100 exemplaires, signés et numérotés en chiffres arabes
5 exemplaires supplémentaires numérotés en chiffres romains
14 EA

Tuymans peint The Worshipper en 1994, pour une exposition à la galerie Zeno X à Anvers. Pour ses toiles destinées à cette exposition, il s'est inspiré du carnaval annuel de la ville wallonne de Binche, tradition qui remonte au XIVe siècle et est reprise sur la liste du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'humanité établie par l'Unesco. Tout au long des festivités, la ville est envahie de personnages masqués et costumés. The Worshipper est basé sur une photo prise par Tuymans au Musée international du Carnaval et du Masque, à Binche: un polaroïd d'un mannequin en costume carnavalesque, dressé contre un mur.
Dans un entretien avec Robert Ayers, en 2007, l'artiste raconte qu'à ses yeux, ce mannequin n'a jamais évoqué le carnaval: il lui est apparu comme ayant une existence propre et incarnant «l'idée même du fanatisme». Le flash de Tuymans isole la silhouette d'un prêtre archaïque, esquissant de la main un vague geste de conjuration.
En 2005, Tuymans réalise, d'après sa toile, une grande sérigraphie en collaboration avec le maître-imprimeur Roger Vandaele. Les huit couleurs qui composent sa palette diffèrent du gris verdâtre du tableau, faisant ressortir la figure beaucoup plus clairement contre l'arrière-plan foncé, d'un brun tirant sur le jaune. Grâce à ce procédé, qui copie volontairement la surexposition de la photo, le personnage acquiert un éclat quasi fantomatique. Une ombre légère, mordorée, court de la manche du bras droit à l'arrière-plan, soulignant la forme du costume. Une deuxième ombre, juste en dessous de la main, en double le volume, de manière à en renforcer le geste. Les détails brillamment éclairés du visage et du vêtement sont traités en violet pâle et n'apparaissent de façon visible qu'en y posant un regard attentif. Toutefois, tous ces indices subtils sont supplantés par l'insigne brillant qui se détache sur la coiffure du personnage, élément contrastant qui accentue l'aura funeste de cette sérigraphie.

  • Dimension : 105.00 x 73.00 cm
  • Type : Sérigraphie
  • Tirage : 100 + V + 14 AP
  • Disponible? : Oui
  • Editeur : Phaidon Press - London
En savoir plus ?

Ces oeuvres peuvent vous intéresser

© Art Partout Gallery, Kloosterstraat 30, B-2000 Anvers, Belgique. | T +32 475 661 259 ou +32 486 645 305 S’abonner

En savoir plus

Merci de remplir tous les champs