Luc Tuymans | Untitled (Ende) 2007

Luc Tuymans

Untitled (Ende) - 2007 [cat. 50]

Year:2007
Size10.30 x 10.30 cm
Edition of:43 unique polaroids
Published by:Kabinett für aktuelle Kunst - Bremerhaven
Signature:Signed in pen, not dated and unnumbered
Available:For sale

Photography by Luc Tuymans

Enquire about this work

Untitled (Ende)

Untitled (Ende) from 2007 (based on a wall painting of the same name) is an unusual work in the scope of Luc Tuymans's printmaking practice: the series consists exclusively of Polaroid photographs and is his only series to date of unique works rather than an edition of multiples. The Polaroid instant print has long been integral to Tuymans's working process, both for research and studies, as well as a tool for the preparation of his paintings. The Ende Polaroids also work in another way: they document and depict a singular, site-specific work after it has already been realised.
 
The Ende series was created on the occasion of Tuymans's exhibition at the Kabinett fur aktuelle Kunst in Bremerhaven, Germany, a celebrated alternative space founded in 1967, where many respected artists - including Blinky Palermo, Sigmar Polke, Gerhard Richter and Lawrence Weiner - realised some of their earliest projects. Tuymans himself first exhibited at the very same 33 square-metre exhibition space in 1993 a selection of paintings, which marked his second institutional show in Germany. For his 2007 project at the Kabinett fur aktuelle Kunst, Tuymans considered and responded to the institution's longstanding tradition of site­ specific works, which also corresponded with his own ongoing interest in wall paintings.
 
Tuymans painted the entire space - floor to ceiling - in a single, light grey tone, then painted a white "image" of the light as it filtered through the iconic window frame of the Kabinett's facade onto the floor and one of the walls. The resulting room-sized wall painting was a convincing trompe l'oeil: the light-image as figure, and shadow itself as ground.
Additionally, the work serves as a homage to Blinky Palermo's wall painting Fenster, and Edward Hopper's Sun in an Empty Room.
 
The Polaroids, taken by Tuymans after the realisation of the wall painting, show the painted installation at different angles, from both inside and outside of the exhibition space.
These photographs range from clear and simple depictions of the work to abstract and indirect references, significantly deviating from literal documentation. The fleeting moment of light-image was reified through the painting, expanded into a fixed, indeterminate picture of time. The camera's shutter­ release required for this series of Polaroids collapses Tuymans's process of painting into instantaneous photographic artworks - frozen views of light in space.
 
 

Luc Tuymans

Luc Tuymans (born 1958) is a Belgian artist who lives and works in Antwerp. Tuymans is considered one of the most influential painters working today.

high quality rolex replicas replica rolex replica rolex watches replica watches
Luc Tuymans | Untitled (Ende) 2007

Luc Tuymans

Untitled (Ende) - 2007 [cat. 50]

Année:2007
Dimension10.30 x 10.30 cm
Tirage:43 unique polaroids
Éditées par:Kabinett für aktuelle Kunst - Bremerhaven
Signature:Signés à la plume, non datés et non numérotés
Disponible?:A vendre

Photos de Luc Tuymans

Je suis interessé

Untitled (Ende)

Untitled (Ende), datant de 2007 et basé sur une peinture murale homonyme, occupe une position particulière dans l'œuvre graphique de Luc Tuymans: consistant en photos polaroïds, l'ensemble ne constitue pas une édition à tirage, mais une série d' œuvres uniques, la seule créée par l'artiste jusqu'à présent. Les polaroïds font depuis longtemps partie intégrante du processus de travail de Tuymans, tant pour le dépouillement et l'étude des sources que pour la préparation des tableaux. En outre, les polaroïds d'Ende ont une autre fonction: elles documentent, après réalisation, une œuvre conçue pour un lieu spécifique.

La série Ende était destinée à l'exposition de Tuymans au Kabinett für aktuelle Kunst à Bremerhaven. Dans ce centre fondé en 1967 et connu pour ses expositions alternatives, des artistes aujourd'hui célèbres, dont Blinky Palermo, Sigmar Polke, Gerhard Richter et Lawrence Weiner, ont présenté quelques-uns de leurs premiers projets. Tuymans y a exposé pour la première fois en 1993 - c'était sa deuxième exposition en Allemagne - présentant une sélection de ses tableaux dans cet espace de 33 m2. En 2007, le Kabinett für aktuelle Kunst lui ayant offert une deuxième occasion de réaliser un projet, il se rattache à une longue tradition d'œuvres d'art liées au site en optant pour une peinture murale, médium qui retient son attention depuis pas mal de temps.

Après avoir badigeonné le local, du sol au plafond, d'un gris clair uniforme, Tuymans a peint, par-dessus un «tableau» blanc, de la lumière tombant sur le sol et un des murs par la célèbre façade en verre du Kabinett. En plus d'être un trompe l'œil convaincant, cette peinture murale aux dimensions de la pièce, qui utilisait la lumière comme figure et l'ombre comme fond, rendait hommage à la peinture murale Fenster de Blinky Palermo et à 'Sun in an Empty Room' d'Edward Hopper.

Sur les photos polaroïds prises par Tuymans après l'achèvement de la peinture murale, l'installation peinte est visible sous différents angles, de l'intérieur comme de l'extérieur de la salle d'exposition. Certaines sont de simples représentations de l'œuvre, alors que d'autres sont des références abstraites et indirectes, sans rapport avec le documentaire pur. L'éphémère image lumineuse matérialisée dans le tableau s'est transformée en un instantané, à la fois immuable et indéfini. Dans cette série de polaroïds, une pression sur le bouton de l'obturateur a figé le processus pictural en une succession d'images spatiolumineuses.

 

Luc Tuymans

A présent Luc Tuymans est sans aucun doute l’artiste belge, vivant, le plus important dans la scène internationale.