high quality rolex replicas replica rolex replica rolex watches replica watches
Luc Tuymans | Lamproom 1992

Luc Tuymans

Lamproom - 1992 [cat. 5]

Year:1992
Size105.00 x 75.00 cm (40.00 x 56.00 cm)
Edition of:30 + 6 AP
Published by:Kunsthalle Bern - Bern
Printed by:Roger Vandaele, Antwerpen
Paper:BFK Rives 270 g/m2
Signature:Signed and numbered in pencil 'Luc Tuymans "Lamproom" '92'
Available:For sale
Enquire about this work

Lamproom

Screenprint in 2 colours on BFK Rives 270 g/ m2 paper 
 
In 1992 Luc Tuymans experienced a turning point in his career with his first major international solo exhibition at Kunsthalle Bern, followed by his participation in documenta IX in Kassel that was organised by the Belgian curator Jan Hoet, where he presented perhaps his most significant series of paintings to date.
 
Lamproom, a key painting from the Bern show, was selected by the artist and the museum as the subject for a published work commemorating the exhibition. The deceptively simple composition of the painting, with its sober, nearly monochromatic palette, presents an unidentified room showing a wall, a door, and three lamps. Despite a certain suggestion of openness, there is an oppressive quality to this view.
 
The Lamproom edition was printed by master printer Roger Vandaele, who earlier that same year produced the artist book entitled Zayin, a collection of thirteen texts by Antwerp poet and critic Wilfried Adams (1947-2008), each accompanied by an image from Tuymans. These images included newspaper cutouts, collages and drawings. All three Lamproom works - the painting that was exhibited in Bern, as well as the screenprint and the image in the Zayin artist book - refer back to these newspaper clippings.
Placing the viewer in a position of peering through a door into a room, Tuymans and Vandaele positioned the horizontal image towards the top of a larger, vertical sheet - a mise en page that evokes a vintage, glass-windowed door.
 
This two-colour screenprint with its diffuse lines, strikes a downbeat, yet graphic note, which corresponds well with the monochromatic Lamproom painting and its articulated marks.
 
Once Tuymans has made a painting and it enters the world of images, he is able to continually reference it, as he would any other image from the world, when making printed works. He has consistently deployed the practice of printmaking as a way of engaging with the content of his paintings.

 

 

Luc Tuymans

Luc Tuymans (born 1958) is a Belgian artist who lives and works in Antwerp. Tuymans is considered one of the most influential painters working today.

high quality rolex replicas replica rolex replica rolex watches replica watches
Luc Tuymans | Lamproom 1992

Luc Tuymans

Lamproom - 1992 [cat. 5]

Année:1992
Dimension105.00 x 75.00 cm (40.00 x 56.00 cm)
Tirage:30 + 6 AP
Éditées par:Kunsthalle Bern - Bern
Imprimeur:Roger Vandaele, Antwerpen
Papier:BFK Rives 270 g/m2
Signature:Signée et numérotée au crayon «Luc Tuymans "Lamproom" '92 »
Disponible?:A vendre
Je suis interessé

Lamproom

Sérigraphie en 2 couleurs sur papier BFK Rives 270 g/m2

L'année 1992 marque une percée dans la carrière de Luc Tuymans. Il décroche sa première grande exposition personnelle sur le plan international à la Kunsthalle de Berne, avant de participer, à Kassel, à la Documenta IX, organisée par le commissaire belge Jan Hoet: ces deux événements iront de pair avec les plus importantes séries de tableaux jamais présentées par Tuymans.

Lorsqu'il est question de publier une œuvre graphique à l'occasion de l'exposition de Berne, le choix de Tuymans comme celui du musée se portent sur une des pièces clés de l'événement, Lamproom. Le tableau, quasi monochrome, sobre et d'une simplicité trompeuse dans la composition, propose un espace indéfini dont le spectateur ne distingue qu'un mur, une porte et trois suspensions. Malgré la suggestion de spatialité et d'ouverture, cette œuvre a quelque chose d'oppressant.

La sérigraphie basée sur le tableau est de la main du maître-imprimeur Roger Vandaele, qui a déjà collaboré, la même année, à un livre d'artiste intitulé Zayin, recueil de treize textes du poète et critique anversois Wilfried Adams (1947-2008). Pour chaque poème, Tuymans a réalisé une sérigraphie, à partir de coupures de presse, de collages et de dessins. Les trois œuvres intitulées Lamproom -le tableau exposé à Berne, la sérigraphie et une des illustrations du livre d'artiste -ont la même composition et renvoient toutes à des coupures de presse.

En plaçant l'image horizontale dans le haut d'une feuille beaucoup plus grande de format vertical, Tuymans et Vandaele invitent en quelque sorte le spectateur à jeter un coup d'œil dans une pièce par la porte, la mise en page suggérant l'idée d'une porte à l'ancienne avec imposte vitrée. Cette sérigraphie en deux couleurs, à l'écriture diffuse, quasi suggestive, se distingue par une tonalité sobre, en parfait accord avec celle du tableau monochrome homonyme.

Dès que Tuymans a terminé une œuvre et l'a ajoutée à son répertoire intellectuel et visuel, elle devient pour lui une image comme les autres, qui peut être utilisée et retravaillée et servir de référence. Ce principe s'applique également à son œuvre graphique, en interaction constante avec ses tableaux et ses dessins.

 

Luc Tuymans

A présent Luc Tuymans est sans aucun doute l’artiste belge, vivant, le plus important dans la scène internationale.