Luc Tuymans | Le Verdict 1995

Luc Tuymans

Le Verdict - 1995 [cat. 11]

Year:1995
Size50.00 x 569.00 cm
Edition of:8 + 2 AP + 2 HC
Published by:Centre genevois de gravure contemporaine - Geneva
Printed by:Centre genevois de gravure contemporaine, Geneva, Switzerland
Signature:Signed and numbered in pencil on lower right "'Le Verdict" Luc Tuymans '95'
Available:Not available
Enquire about this work

Le Verdict

11 colour lithographs printed on 7 strips of wallpaper.
Sheet 1 (so x 569 cm; 19½ x 224 in): 3 lithographs, Sheet 2 (so x 590 cm; 19½ x 232¼ in): 2 lithographs, Sheet 3 (so x 506 cm; 19½ x 199¼ in): 2 lithographs, Sheet 4 (so x 380 cm; 19½ x 149¾ in): 1 lithograph, Sheet 5 (so x 210 cm; 19½ x 82½ in): 1 lithograph, Sheet 6 (so x 195 cm; 19½ x 76¾ in): 1 lithograph, Sheet 7 (so x 200 cm; 19½ x 78¾ in): 1 lithograph

In 1995 Luc Tuymans was invited to mount an exhibition at the Centre Genèvois de Gravure Contemporaine in Geneva, Switzerland (renamed Centre d'Edicion Contemporaine in 2002) . Since its founding in 1989, the Centre has hosted numerous exhibitions and residencies, and has annually published editions of original prints by emerging and established artists such as Heimo Zobernig, Guiseppe Penone, and Luc Tuymans. The work chat Tuymans published with the Centre, entitled Le Verdict, is a notable departure from his established printmaking practice: rather than a traditional series of prints as individual works on paper, Le Verdict consists of eleven lithographs executed as a single, site-specific print installation.

When Centre director Veronique  Bachetta, suggested that Tuymans create something 'highly specific', he responded with a printed work researched and realised expressly for the gallery where the exhibition was to be held. The artist was fascinated with the villa's hidden history: the local lore was that singer, actress, and political activist Josephine Baker, unable to have children after suffering a miscarriage, and having adopted twelve children, had once purchased the building to establish an orphanage. Additional research revealed that the villa had previously housed an ecumenical centre that held lectures and symposia on missionary work. Tuymans's installation took inspiration from both fact and myth by mixing historical images of the villa with images from the artist's recent work, such as A Flemish Intellectual and The Flag. Both of these latter paintings are from his controversial Heimat series, in which he explicitly denounces the rise of Flemish nationalism. By incorporating the ecumenical history of the villa, Tuymans deftly extended some of Heimat's key themes: religious and intellectual power structures, propaganda, and the use and misuse of images.

The eleven lithographs for Le Verdict were printed onto wallpaper, made expressly for the space and installed to measure, deploying a subtle irony chat blurs the distinction between 'works on paper' and wallpaper. In Tuymans's own words, ' ... to use the multiple properly you had to destroy it bluntly by pasting it to the wall'.

 

Luc Tuymans

Luc Tuymans (born 1958) is a Belgian artist who lives and works in Antwerp. Tuymans is considered one of the most influential painters working today.

Luc Tuymans | Le Verdict 1995

Luc Tuymans

Le Verdict - 1995 [cat. 11]

Année:1995
Dimension50.00 x 569.00 cm
Tirage:8 + 2 AP + 2 HC
Éditées par:Centre genevois de gravure contemporaine - Geneva
Imprimeur:Centre genevois de gravure contemporaine, Geneva, Switzerland
Signature:Signées et numérotées au crayon, en bas à droite, « "Le Verdict" Luc Tuymans '95 »
Disponible?:Non disponible
Je suis interessé

Le Verdict

11 lithographies en couleurs imprimées sur 7 bandes de papier peint
Feuille 1 (50 x 569 cm): 3 lithos, Feuille 2 (50 x 590 cm): 2 lithos, Feuille 3 (50 x 506 cm): 2 lithos, Feuille 4 (50 x 380 cm): 1 litho, Feuille 5 (50 x 210 cm): 1 litho, Feuille 6 (50 x 195 cm): 1 litho, Feuille 7 (50 x 200 cm): 1 litho

En 1995, Luc Tuymans fut invité à organiser une exposition au Centre genevois de Gravure contemporaine à Genève. Depuis sa fondation en 1989, ce centre (rebaptisé en 2002 Centre d'Édition contemporaine) a accueilli nombre d'expositions et d'artistes invités. Chaque année, il édite des œuvres graphiques originales d'artistes tant débutants qu'établis, parmi lesquels Heimo Zobernig, Giuseppe Penone et Luc T uymans. Lœuvre Le Verdict, éditée par Tuymans au Centre, diffère considéra.blement de sa production graphique antérieure: il ne s'agit pas d'une série d'estampes traditionnelle sous forme d'œuvres séparées sur papier, mais d'un ensemble de onze lithos, conçu comme une seule et même installation propre au site.

Parce que la directrice du Centre, Véronique Bacchetta, lui avait demandé quelque chose de «très spécifique», Tuymans créa une œuvre imprimée à la mesure de l'endroit où elle allait être exposée. L'histoire secrète de la villa le fascinait: la chanteuse, actrice et activiste politique Joséphine Baker, stérile par suite d'une fausse couche et mère adoptive de douze enfants, passait pour avoir acheté l'immeuble afin de le transformer en orphelinat. Après vérification, cependant, il apparut que la villa avait abrité un centre œcuménique, où se tenaient symposiums et conférences sur le travail missionnaire. S'inspirant tant du mythe que de la réalité, Tuymans réalisa une installation qui associait des photos historiques à des images tirées de son œuvre récente, comme A Flemish Intellectual et The Flag -deux tableaux appartenant à la série Heimat, qui fustige explicitement la montée du nationalisme en Flandre. En combinant ces images avec des références à l'histoire œcuménique de la villa, l'artiste a donné une plus grande portée aux thèmes principaux de Heimat: les structures du pouvoir religieux et intellectuel, la propagande, et l'usage et le mésusage des images.

Les onze lithographies du Verdict ont été imprimées sur du papier peint, qui avait été fabriqué spécialement pour l'espace d'exposition et s'y adaptait parfaitement. La distinction entre 'œuvres sur papier' et papier peint est ainsi soulignée avec une ironie subtile. Comme l'a dit Tuymans lui-même, «pour utiliser correctement l'estampe-multiple, il faut la détruire résolument en la collant au mur».

 

Luc Tuymans

A présent Luc Tuymans est sans aucun doute l’artiste belge, vivant, le plus important dans la scène internationale.